## COUNCIL 12th July 2023 Item 33 Appendix C

## Extract from Boundary Commission Report on Town Council wards

## Parish electoral arrangements

97 As part of an electoral review, we are required to have regard to the statutory criteria set out in Schedule 2 to the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (the 2009 Act). The Schedule provides that if a parish is to be divided between different wards it must also be divided into parish wards, so that each parish ward lies wholly within a single ward. We cannot recommend changes to the external boundaries of parishes as part of an electoral review.

98 Under the 2009 Act we only have the power to make changes to parish electoral arrangements where these are as a direct consequence of our recommendations for principal authority warding arrangements. However, North Northamptonshire Council has powers under the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 to conduct community governance reviews to effect changes to parish electoral arrangements.

99 As a result of our proposed ward boundaries and having regard to the statutory criteria set out in schedule 2 to the 2009 Act, we are providing revised parish electoral arrangements for Barton Seagrave, Corby, Kettering, Rushden and Wellingborough parishes.

We are providing revised parish electoral arrangements for Kettering parish.

Draft recommendations Kettering Town Council should comprise 20 councillors, as at present, representing nine wards:

Parish ward	No of parish
	councillors
All Saints	4
Avondale Grange	2
Brambleside	1
Hanwood Park	1
Ise Lodge	3
Pipers Hill	2
St Peters and St Michaels	4
Wicksteed	1
William Knibb	2