25th May 2024

Search Kettering Town Council

Disco fever comes to Kettering

Disco fever comes to Kettering

Back by popular demand the Friday Night Discos return to Kettering for 2024.

DJs Bill Burton and Dave Bellamy will be taking over Kettering Market Place and this year the dances will be bigger and better with an extra date planned next month.

Free to attend and family friendly, the discos brought thousands into town last September to dance the night away and welcome the weekend.

This year, an extra date has been added early in the season with first disco being held on Friday 31 May.

Cllr Craig Skinner, Chair of the Markets and Events Committee, said: "The discos went down so well last year, it was amazing to see so many people coming into town and enjoying themselves. We had a mix of all ages from kids to grandparents joining in the conga.

"The town council is working hard to put on accessible events for everyone and get people into town and enjoying themselves."

Bill Burton said: "Last year was absolutely incredible – it was an honour to bring the disco to the Market Place and see so many people of all ages just come and enjoy a really fun evening.

"We cannot wait to be back in the town, with the disco ball, and bringing everyone together again."

As well as the music, there will be artisan gins, wines, beers and prosecco from Wavy Bar, plus cocktails on offer form Kino Lounge and Butterwick will be staying open specially late with their selection of hot drinks and tempting cakes.

After May, the discos will return at the end of the summer on Friday 30 August and Friday 13 September.

As well as the discos, Kettering Town Council has planned a range of events and activities for the coming year.

Kettering By The Sea will be in the Market Place in August, giving children and families free play and entertainment daily.

The popular Bands in the Park programme returns to Rockingham Road Pleasure Park bandstand from July – with two Bands in the Town events this year planned for May.

The Midsummer Market, first held last year, will be back in the Market Place with free stalls for local charities and community groups to help promote themselves and attract new volunteers.

Four Summer Saturdays are planned for the last Saturdays in the month from April to July, bringing street food, crafts and local traders, live music and entertainment to the town Market Place.

Three skate event days are planned for this year at the Ise Lodge Skate Park, with prizes to be won in competitions throughout the day plus a skills workshops with a qualified coach.

For a full programme of what's on in the town this year go to: www.ketteringtowncouncil.gov.uk/whats-on

2024 Events Dates


Sat 27 April

Summer Saturday, Market Place


Sat 11 & Sat 18 May

Bands in the Town, Market Place


Sat 25 May

Summer Saturday, Market Place


Fri 31 May

Friday Night Disco, Market Place


Sat 8 June

Midsummer Market, Market Place


Sat 22 Jun

Kettfest, Market Place and Town Centre


Sun 23 Jun – Sun 25 Aug

Bands in the Park, Rockingham Rd Pleasure Park


Sat 29 Jun

Summer Saturday, Market Place


Sat 27 July

Summer Saturday, Market Place


Fri 2 to Sat 24 Aug

Kettering By The Sea, Market Place


Fri 30 Aug

Friday Night Disco, Market Place


Sun 1 Sep

Love Food, Wicksteed Park


Fri 13 Sep

Friday Night Disco, Market Place


Sat 26 Oct to Sat 2 Nov

Hallowe'en Trail, Town Centre


Sun 10 Nov

Remembrance Sunday, Town Centre


Thu 28 Nov

Christmas Lights Switch On, Town Centre


Sat 7, 14 & 21 Dec

Christmas Markets, Market Place


Fri 24 Jan 2025

Holocaust Memorial Day, Manor House Gardens

Posted: Wed, 17 Apr 2024 by Emma Dezelu

Tags: Community, Events, News